novel

  Robert Goolrick’s most recent novel, The Fall of Princes, is set in 1980’s New York City, a time when Wall Street ruled, drugs were in constant supply, and jockeying for power was the name of the game. We meet Rooney, who tells the story of how he and a group of other young Princes made it to the top and then, one by one, took a fall.

  Set in the sparse frontier settlements of northeastern Brazil―a dry, forbidding, and wild region the size of Texas, known locally as the Sertao - Backlands by Victoria Shorr tells the true story of a group of nomadic outlaws who reigned over the area from about 1922 until 1938.

Taking from the rich, admired―and feared―by the poor, they were led by the famously charismatic bandit Lampiao. The gang maintained their influence by fighting off all the police and soldiers the region could muster.

  In House Divided, Peter Pollak’s new thriller, Leonard and Alison Robbins disagree how big a mistake their college student daughter is making by joining the radical Students for Palestinian Justice.

Alison believes Courtney needs to be allowed to make her own decisions, but retired CIA agent Leonard Robbins, who heads up a counterterrorism task force, fears she’s being used. Neither, however, foresee the real danger. Anti-Israeli terrorists are recruiting SPJ members to bomb Jewish organizations.

Can Robbins’ task force find and stop the terrorists before they claim more innocent victims? Will Courtney Robbins figure out the truth about SPJ before it’s too late?

  Brian Panowich is a firefighter and former musician. He grew up in Europe until his family settled in East Georgia.

His debut novel, Bull Mountain, takes place in that region. Spanning decades, the story is told from alternating points of view and evokes the atmosphere of the mountain and its inhabitants: forbidding, loyal, gritty, and ruthless. It is a story of family, the lengths men will go to protect it or - in some cases - destroy it.

  Dennis Mahoney’s new novel, Bell Weather, is a mystery-adventure about a young woman confronting dangers in a re-imagined, fantastical 18th century. Consider it a big, old-fashioned suspense story set in a strangely familiar world.

Mahoney is also the author of Fellow Mortals, a Booklist Top 10 debut in 2013.

  In the tradition of The Great Gatsby and Mrs Dalloway, Samantha Bruce-Benjamin delivers insight into five minutes in the life of a celebrated Hamptons society hostess, set against the backdrop of The Great Hurricane of 1938.

Her new novel is: The Westhampton Leisure Hour and Supper Club. The novel is based on historical research about the Hamptons at the peak of its grandeur, the devastation that the 1938 hurricane wrought, and a real supper club called The Leisure Hour and Supper Club.

  Joshua Braff delivers an authentic, funny and honest tale about modern family life.

The mom works, the dad stays at home - and the family figures everything out together.

Jay and Jackie uproot their family of four from San Francisco after Jackie loses her job but finds a lucrative new one in St. Petersburg, Florida. Jay, a one-time copywriter and aspiring author, now plays househusband, caring for his troubled thirteen-year-old son and precocious daughter as they adjust to their new life. 

  Vassar grad Sophie McManus' sharply written, funny and heart-breaking debut The Unfortunates, is a story of inheritance, influence, class and power.

She will read from a sign the book at Oblong Books and Music in Rhinebeck, NY tonight at 7p.m.

  Debut novelist Sabaa Tahir tells the thrilling, heart-wrenching story of two unforgettable characters willing to sacrifice everything for the chance to write their own destinies in her book, An Ember in the Ashes.

In a world inspired by ancient Rome and defined by brutality, seventeen-year old Laia has grown up with one rule for survival: Never challenge the Empire. But when Laia’s brother Darin is arrested for treason, she leaves behind everything she knows, risking her life to try and save him.

  The New York Times Book Review has called author Mary-Beth Hughes “a writer of dexterity and imagination.” In her new novel The Loved Ones, Hughes explores deep into the secret places between men and women to give an incisive portrayal of one family's struggle to stay together against stacked odds of deception, adultery, and loss.

Hughes is the author of the bestselling novel Wavemaker II, a New York Times Notable Book, and the acclaimed collection Double Happiness, which earned a Pushcart Prize.

The Northshire Bookstore in Manchester Center, VT will be hosting a reception for the new book from 6 -7 PM. with a reading and audience discussion to follow.

Pages