New adult drivers in Connecticut will soon need a learner's permit before taking the road test for a driver's license.
The three-month permit will be mandatory for drivers 18 and older starting Wednesday.
The new law ends a 106-year practice of not requiring adult drivers in Connecticut to complete a training period before getting a driver's license.
Applicants will receive an adult learner permit after passing a 25-question knowledge test and a vision test. They will also have to take an eight-hour safe driving practices course, which costs $125.
The Vermont Yankee nuclear power plant wants Vermont's utility regulator to allow it to take more than a year to file documents that could lead to it being allowed to operate for another 20 years.
The state of Vermont is suggesting a similar time frame, but wants Vermont Yankee to file its main documents earlier than the company would like.
The plant and the state presented their cases to the Public Service Board on Wednesday. The board is deciding whether the plant's owner, Entergy Nuclear, should be given a state permit.