The Roundtable

Weekdays, 9 a.m.

WAMC's The Roundtable is an award-winning, nationally recognized eclectic talk program. The show airs from 9am to noon each weekday and features news, interviews, in-depth discussion, listener call-ins, music, and much (much) more! Hosted by Joe Donahue and produced by Sarah LaDuke, The Roundtable tackles serious and lighthearted subjects, looking to explore the many facets of the human condition with civility, respect and responsibility.

The show's hallmark is thoughtful interviews with A-list newsmakers, authors, artists, sports figures, actors, and people with interesting stories to tell. Since hitting the airwaves in May of 2001, The Roundtable has interviewed the likes of Arthur Miller, Kurt Vonnegut, Maya Angelou, Madeleine Albright, Jimmy Carter, John McCain, Bob Dole, Bill O'Reilly, Steve Martin, James Taylor, Bill Cosby, Stephen King, Melissa Etheridge and lots of other really cool people. Plus, Wilco does our theme song. What more can you ask for?

If you have any questions or you'd like to be on the show, email us at roundtable@wamc.org

"Book Picks" lists are here.

Genre: 
Composer ID: 
5187ee3ce1c8156e5bf76f41|5187edcfe1c8156e5bf76f38

Pages

The Roundtable
11:35 am
Wed November 26, 2014

"For The Benefit Of Those Who See" By Rosemary Mahoney

  In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of a remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness.

By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Her book is For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind.

Read more
The Roundtable
10:35 am
Wed November 26, 2014

Neil Gaiman And Amanda Palmer On Asking And Audiobooks

Credit Allan Amato/Coilhouse

  Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer are a fascinating, artistic, and talented couple who - lucky for us - live part-time in our region.

Amanda Palmer's new book The Art of Asking, is part manifesto, part revelation and a little bit "how-to" guide. Gaiman's most recent release is his adaption of Hansel and Gretel. They join us to discuss asking and audiobooks.

Read more
The Roundtable
10:10 am
Wed November 26, 2014

'Actress' By Robert Greene To Screen At Upstate Films In Woodstock

    Brandy Burre had a recurring role on HBO’s The Wire when she gave up her career to start a family. While living with her family in Beacon, NY she decides to reclaim her life as an actor and the domestic world she’s carefully created crumbles around her.

The documentary film, Actress is both a present tense portrait of a dying relationship and an exploration of a woman, performing the role of herself.

Actress will screen at Upstate Films in Woodstock, NY on November 29th at 5pm and Brandy Burre and filmmaker, Robert Greene will both be in attendance for a discussion following the film.

The Roundtable
9:00 am
Wed November 26, 2014

11/26/14 Panel

  The Roundtable Panel: a daily open discussion of issues in the news and beyond.

Today's panelists are WAMC’s Alan Chartock, Editor of The Daily Gazette Judy Patrick, and political consultant, Libby Post.

The Roundtable
12:00 pm
Tue November 25, 2014

Roundtable Music 11/25

The Roundtable
11:50 am
Tue November 25, 2014

Listener Essay - Thanksgiving Conversations

  Diane Cameron is a public intellectual who writes and speaks about her private life with courage, compassion and humor from the Albany, NY area.

The Roundtable
11:35 am
Tue November 25, 2014

'The Long Haul' With A Wimpy Kid

  The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series has become a phenomena among children and parents. There are 150 million of the books in print in 45 different languages. On a recent Thursday at Northshire Bookstore in Saratoga Springs, NY, author Jeff Kinney was working a crowd of hundreds of kids - and their parents - signing books and making small talk.

In the latest Diary of a Wimpy Kid book, The Long Haul Greg Heffley and his family hit the road for a vacation - and Kinney has been taking a road trip of his own to support the book.

Read more
Arts & Culture
11:12 am
Tue November 25, 2014

Rebecca Eaton On 'Making Masterpiece'

  For twenty-five years and counting, Rebecca Eaton has presided over PBS’s Masterpiece, the longest running weekly prime time drama series on American television. Eaton brings to her new memoir, Making Masterpiece, the voices of many of the writers, directors, producers, and other contributors and shares personal anecdotes about her decades-spanning career.

Read more
Congressional Corner
10:49 am
Tue November 25, 2014

Congressional Corner With Sean Patrick Maloney

  President Obama has turned to executive action on immigration reform.

In today’s Congressional Corner, New York representative Sean Patrick Maloney tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock there should be a Congressional fix. 

The Roundtable
10:35 am
Tue November 25, 2014

Exercise Will Hurt You

  When was it decided that exercise could only be good for you? Leading neurosurgeon Dr. Steve Barrer argues, based on his extensive career treating exercise-related injuries, a cornucopia of his own personal injuries from exercise over the years, and ample scientific data, that we ought to change the way we think about exercise.

Instead of succumbing to what Barrer calls “the cult of exercise” that follows the mantra “no pain, no gain,” how about some common sense? His book is Exercise Will Hurt You.

Pages